Operation Morning Workouts

Where did the weekend go? That sounds so cliché, but lately the hours between 5:00 Friday and 5:00 Monday have been a total blur.

Friday evening the fiance and I went for a nice stroll before cooking up dinner on the grill (or go to means of preparing food during the summer months). I needed to drop something off at the post office and grab a few books from the library.

I ended up picking up three books that I’ve been meaning to dive into. “The Power of Less”, “The End of Overeating” and “The New Rules of Lifting” (for the boy – they didn’t have “The New Rules of Lifting For Women”).

Saturday was filled with beer drinking and greasy food eating. We headed to a beer festival in Allentown, PA where we sampled micro brews all afternoon and followed it up with a cheese steak and french fry dinner (my first in who knows how long). After a two-hour couch nap, we managed to make it out to a local bar to see our band friends play. It was a busy and hectic day!

Sunday was made to get things done around the house, and get things done we did! While I was inside cleaning, laundering, and working on some wedding details, the fiance was outside tending to this order of business.

I’m so happy the side of the house is starting to shape up!

Operation Morning Workouts

The past week or so has been rough in the workout department. I am finding that I have been skipping my workouts on a regular basis for one reason or another. I am either too tired or too busy, and something has to give!

I’ve decided that in order to fit my workouts in consistently, I need to become a *gasp!* morning workout person – someone I never thought I would be.

So starting today, I commence operation morning workouts. The plan is as follows:

  • Prepare lunch and breakfast the night before.
  • In bed by 9:30PM (this is going to be tough!)
  • Up at 5:00 AM.
  • Gym/running by 5:15 and home by 6:00. (Thankfully I live a block away from my gym.)
  • Showered, packed up and ready to leave my house by 7:00 to get to work.

Phew!

Today was my first day of working out in the morning and I have to say – I loved it! I never thought those words would come out of my mouth, but it’s true. I had more energy than I anticipated and I LOVE getting my workout done first thing in the morning. I felt so great knowing that I could leave work, go home, and do whatever I want!

Hopefully tomorrow will go just as well and this will fast become a new habit. Cross your fingers for me!

Question: Are you an AM or PM exerciser?

6 responses to “Operation Morning Workouts

  1. I’m so not a morning person at all. Good luck and props for giving it a go! I just scoped your races page and I’m not sure I could keep up with you! I run a 9:30-9:45 mile and you’re WAY faster! :) I registered for the Rock ‘n’ Roll and the HLS. My wallet is on FIRE. ;)

    • I am so jealous you signed up for the HLS. I just could not afford the $100 fee right now, unfortunately. I’m so bummed about it too. I’m hoping by some magic I can maybe win a ticket? Here’s to wishful thinking!

      Sent from my iPhone

      • A few chickies I know plan to be up in the area for that weekend but aren’t going. I am sure there are going to be copious meetups so I will fill you in on any plans! :D

      • Definitely keep me updated of any meet ups you may know about. I would love to be involved despite not being able to attend HLS.

  2. It would be so much more convenient for me to be a morning workout person. Anything before 9 am sucks big time for me. My muscles aren’t warmed up enough and I have to wake up an hour before in order to eat. I also found that if I worked out too early, I would be tired by mid-day.

    Oh well, I hope it works out better for you!!

    • So far it is going well! Although it has only been two days, ha ha. I don’t eat anything pre-workout unless I’m doing a longer run. This works for me but I know it doesn’t for everyone. We’ll see how the rest of this week goes.

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

