June Goals

I am the type of person that needs goals to keep on track. Lately, I’ve been slacking on setting any sort of goals and my well-being has been suffering because of it. I am feeling unmotivated and lazy.

But no more! This month I set goals in order to pull myself out of this slump. After today’s weigh in (up 1 pound from last week) I realized that if I want to continue to feel and look great, I need to have focus.

Without further ado…

June 2011 Goals

Health

  • Get 7.5 hours of sleep each night. This means going to be around 10:30 and waking at 6:00 during the week. I try to keep a similar schedule on the weekends, but that of course does not always happen.
  • Drink more water. I am going to attempt to drink three 24 oz water bottles throughout the day, plus a large glass of water before I go to sleep and when I wake up in the morning.
  • Do not eat past 8:30 PM. I hate putting a time frame on when I can eat, but I’ve found lately that I’ve been doing a lot of my eating late at night, despite not being hungry. By cutting myself off I am attempting to eliminate this unnecessary late night snacking.

Fitness

  • Run three days a week. My running has been very inconsistent following the Broad Street Run in the beginning of May. I start training for the Rock ‘n’ Roll Philadelphia Half Marathon at the end of June, but until then I want to commit to running at least three days during the week.
  • Strength train twice a week. I have a very basic regime that I threw together, but I would like to read “The New Rules of Lifting For Woman” and perhaps follow that program if I can get my hands on it. Either way, I need to do more strength training!
  • Stretch! I need to stretch more – that’s all there is to it.

Financial/Professional

  • Budget for the month of June. I am trying to get a better idea of where all my money is going. I have created a spreadsheet for June’s income and expenses to get a better idea of how much money I am spending on certain things. This will hopefully help me to create a more clear budget for the following months and help me ultimately eliminate my debt and start saving.
  • Continue to job hunt. The end of the school year means job openings for teachers. I plan to continue to apply for as many positions as possible in the hopes of landing a full- or part-time teaching job in August.

What are your goals for the month of June?

8 responses to “June Goals

  1. Wow, that’s quite the list of goals. I’ve made similar lists in the past, but usually tend to “misplace” them and move on with my life. I should definitely try again sometime. Good luck with these!

    • It is a pretty hefty list – but doable! I like to set goals that are challenging but still acheivable. I don’t want to set myself up for failure but at the same time I want to have to push outside of my comfort zone a little bit. I find that writing my goals down and going public with them helps to keep myself accountable. If I know that in a month I’ll have to evaluate my progress then I’m more likely to stick to it. Thank you for the good luck!

  2. I have the exact same goals when it comes to running. I ran my first 5K on May 14th and have gone into a running slump ever since. Nice blog!

    • It’s easy for me to slack off on my running when I don’t have a set race to train for. Thankfully I begin training for a half marathon at the end of June, but I need to keep my running fitness up until then.

      Thanks for stopping by – I’m glad you enjoy my blog! I’m still new at this so it’s definitely a learning process.

  3. I’m planning to run the R&R as well! If you want a running buddy (I love doing long runs on Kelly Drive) let me know! :)

    • I always want to run along Kelly Drive but seldom find the time to drive down there. A meet up is definitely a possibility depending on how busy my weekends are.

      When do you start training, and do you have a plan in place that you are going to use?

  4. If you read that book, let me know how it is! I have a lifting routine, but sometimes I feel like it’s not enough or I’m not doing things right and I don’t have the time to really research it lol.

    • I’m going to try to see if I can get my hands on a free copy of it through my local library, so if I do I’ll definitely let you know what I think. I’m the same way – my lifiting routine is just thrown together and I’m not sure how effective it is. I don’t have the time or drive to do too tons of research to find a good lifting plan (like you said) so I’m hoping this book will give me a bit of direction. So far I’ve heard only good things about it from reviews and whatnot, so I have high hopes!

Leave a Reply

