Why I Blog

20110527-035426.jpg

Greetings from Ocean City, NJ. I am so thankful to be able to spend Memorial Day weekend here with my fiancé and his family. It is sure to be relaxing weekend filled with good food and good times.

Being at the shore means no Internet access (I’m posting this from my phone) so my updates will be limited. I wanted to leave you with some food for thought before I unplug for a bit.

Katie at Chocolate Covered Katie recently wrote a post what makes a successful blog. In it she states that there is one criterion for a successful blog – do you enjoy blogging? If your answer is yes than you are a successful blogger!

I absolutely love that idea. Blogging should be about what makes you happy. Your blog and posts should reflect your own personal goals and ideas and not cater to what your “audience” (or lack thereof in my case) expects or wants from you.

Katie then goes on to give a few (great!) tips on how to make your blog successful. It is a great post for newcomers to the world of blogging (like myself) and seasoned bloggers alike.

This post got me thinking: Why did I decide to start a blog?

I love writing. While I may not be the most eloquent or have the best grammar, writing makes me happy. Putting thoughts and ideas into words helps me to think and clear my head.

I love meeting people. Especially people with similar interests and goals. In just my short few months of joining the blogging community I’ve already met many amazing men and women who have achieved some pretty awesome things. It is so motivating and inspiring and I hope to be able to meet even more.

I love to learn. I love discovering new ideas and keeping up to speed with the most recent information, especially when it comes to health and fitness. By reading blogs I am able to constantly take in new thoughts and ideas from a group of likeminded people.

So tell me (oh few readers of mine) why do you blog?

6 responses to “Why I Blog

  1. Aww I love this post! I really really love that other people love blogging as much as I love blogging!
    Yikes, how many times did I just say LOVE? :)

  2. I’ve been blogging since I was 18 through various formats Livejournal, OpenDiary, my own site, then a few started and failed WordPress blogs. Any time I have stopped, I always find myself coming back to it (this does not mean I am great at writing blogs yet!). I love blogging for a lot of the same reasons as you do. I always enjoyed writing and don’t get to do it enough in my 9-5er, so this satisfies that interest. I also love coming across new people. I was always rotating between various groups of friends, so it’s normal for me to continually seek out new friendships.

    On top of all this, I suck at making up recipes so I need people to do it for me, haha!

    PS – I was in Ocean City, MD! <3 the beach!

    • Come to think of it, I’ve been blogging for a long time now too! I forgot about formats such as Live Journal and Xanga. I even started my own website when I was in high school (almost 10 years ago now – wow, where does the time go?!) and stuck with it for a while.

      I’m not master in the kitchen either, so I love reading blogs to find new ideas for easy and healthy recipes as well. Glad you pointed that out!

      I love the beach too! It is my favorite place to be in the summer. Thankfully my fiance’s parent’s own a shore home in Jersey so we’re able to go down frequently – although they rent it out most of July and August.

      • Awesome! Glad we came across each other, we seem to have a lot in common! :) Are you going to try to register for the Healthy Living Summit? I’m really excited it’s in Philly even though no one I actually know in person would be going to it. There’s a few other Philly girls I follow, we’ve talked about eventually planning a meetup sometime this summer!

      • I definitely want to go to the Healthy Living Summit if I can get my hands on a ticket. I think it would be such a great experience – and I’m so happy it’s in Philadelphia this year. I’m also always down for a meet-up. If you’re familiar of Ben Davis (of Ben Does Lifefame), he’s orchestrated a “Do Life Tour” and has a stop in Philly that I am going to try to go to. It’s sometime this month, though I forget the exact date (there’s information on his site).

Leave a Reply

